Thursday, June 14, 2012

NAPLAN and the Australian Curriculum

Version 3 of the Australian Curriculum for Foundation to 10 for English, Mathematics, Science and History is now in place. Consultations have started for Years 11 and 12 for 14 subjects in the new Australian Curriculum. 4 English courses, 4 Mathematics courses, 4 Science coursse and 2 History courses .ACARA is currently only responsible for the assessment of NAPLAN and for the time being each of the States and Territories will be responsible for the delivery and assessment of the Australian Curriculum Courses. It is interesting to note, however, that the various State authorities are given the acronym ACACA (Australasian Curriculum, Assessment and Certification Authorities).  ACACA is the national body for the chief executives of the statutory bodies in the Australian States and Territories and in New Zealand responsible for certificates of senior secondary education. This points to a future with more centralized control of the Australian Curriculum.